• 19-JAN-2017

  • Bruxelles, Belgium

European Parliament mid-term elections, EPP Group-ALDE agreement, Malta’s EU Presidency

At the European Parliament’s latest plenary, MEPs elected EPP Group MEP Antonio Tajani as its President plus four EPP Group MEPs as Vice-Presidents and two EPP Group MEPs as Quaestors (to look after Parliament’s administrative and financial interests).

The EPP Group and ALDE reached a coalition agreement to strengthen European unity and to counter populism and nationalism from within the EU and from outside the EU.

And Malta set out its priorities for its EU Presidency from January until June, ranging from migration to counterterrorism. The EPP Group is calling for a special Parliamentary committee to tackle terrorism.